LICENSEWARE

Notion Master Subscription Agreement and terms

This article is about the contracts that govern Notion subscriptions: the Master Subscription Agreement for organizations, the Personal Use Terms of Service, the Supplementary Terms (Notion AI and Notion Credit; Premium Support), the Service Level Terms and the Professional Services Addendum. It is not legal advice.

On This Page

The Notion Master Subscription Agreement (MSA) is the contract between Notion Labs, Inc. and organization customers that governs access to and use of Notion’s Services. Notion updated it effective 2026-08-17.[1] The MSA is accepted by clicking to accept it, by executing an Order Form that references it, by using or paying for the Services, or by otherwise indicating acceptance. The person accepting represents that they can bind the organization.[1] If a person uses Notion on behalf of an organization, “your organization is legally and financially responsible” for that use and for use of the account by its employees, agents and contractors.[1]

Editions

Notion publishes its contract set on a “Terms and Privacy” index.[7] The documents relevant to licensing are:

Document Applies to Effective / updated 
Master Subscription Agreement Organizations, and any eligible Plus, Business or Enterprise plan 2026-08-17[1] 
Personal Use Terms of Service Personal use not on behalf of an organization 2024-04-05 (new users), 2024-05-04 (existing)[2] 
Notion AI and Notion Credit Supplementary Terms Notion AI, Notion credits, Notion AI add-on 2026-07-27[3] 
Premium Support Supplementary Terms Premium Support Add-on Not stated[8] 
Service Level Terms Availability commitment referenced by MSA s.1.3 Not stated[4] 
Professional Services Addendum Implementation, configuration, training, migration services Not stated[9] 

The Personal Use Terms state that anyone using Notion on behalf of an organization, or under “an eligible plus, business, or enterprise Subscription Plan”, is governed exclusively by the MSA.[2] Notion’s help centre puts it the same way: the MSA governs subscriptions for organizations, and personal use is governed by the Personal Use Terms of Service.[10] Catalog proof: Personal Use Terms cover individuals; organizations use the MSA.

Order of precedence

MSA s.13.14 sets the order for conflicts: “(1) THE APPLICABLE ORDER FORM BETWEEN NOTION AND CUSTOMER, (2) THE DPA, (3) ANY SUPPLEMENTARY TERMS, (4) THIS AGREEMENT, AND (5) THE DOCUMENTATION.” The same clause rejects terms in customer purchase orders and vendor-registration portals, “EVEN WHERE THEY HAVE BEEN SIGNED BY NOTION”.[1] Because the Documentation, which includes the help centre, sits at the bottom, the help-centre rules described in other articles apply only where neither the Order Form nor the MSA says otherwise. Catalog proof: Order Form prevails over DPA, Supplementary Terms, MSA and Documentation.

The MSA FAQ, which Notion marks as informational and not part of any contract, describes the stack as the Order Form, the MSA, any Supplementary Terms and the Professional Services Addendum. It says Notion is “unable to accept customers’ form of agreement” and will not attach linked terms as static exhibits, except that the DPA can be signed separately.[5]

Metrics

The MSA defines a “User” as “any individual who is authorized to access the Services by Customer”. Notion “may provide different categories of Users, such as Full Members and Guests, depending on the Subscription Plan”.[1] A “Subscription Plan” is the level of “packaged functionality and services and limitations as detailed on Notion’s website and in the applicable Documentation”.[1] The contract therefore imports the website’s plan limits, including guest limits and seat rules, by reference. Seats are recorded as Member (paid seat), and usage-based features as Notion credit.

Counting / floors

Grant and use restrictions

Section 1.3 grants “a worldwide, non-exclusive, non-transferable (except to the extent set forth in Section 13.4), non-sublicensable right during the Subscription Term” to use the Services according to the plan and Documentation, “solely in connection with Customer’s business operations”. Users and Affiliates may use the Services.[1] Section 2.1 lists restrictions. Those that matter for licence position are:

  • no licensing, selling, sharing, renting or leasing the Services to third parties, “including using the Services to provide business process outsourcing services”, or letting anyone other than Users use them (catalog: No resale, sharing or BPO use of the Services);
  • no use “in order to circumvent Subscription Fees” or in breach of the Subscription Plan;
  • no use designed to circumvent the unique identity requirement for Users, and no use “that temporarily and superficially reduces the number of Users in order to circumvent Subscription Plan limitations” (catalog: Each User needs a unique identity; no credential sharing).[1]

Section 2.2 adds that users may not share credentials or use them in multiple locations at once. Each User must use a unique identity and “may access the Services only to the extent purchased by Customer”.[1]

Usage verification and excess use

The MSA has no on-site audit clause. Its compliance mechanism is measurement by Notion:

  • s.1.9 Account Information. “Certain Subscription Plans may require monitoring of Account Information during the Subscription Term in order to reconcile the number of Users and/or usage of the Services” with the plan. Account Information is defined to include usage data related to Notion Credit usage and billing information.[1] Catalog proof: Notion may monitor account data to reconcile users.
  • s.2.3 Excess usage. Notion will use commercially reasonable efforts to notify the customer. If the excess persists, it may require an Order Form or a purchase of additional usage. A failure to act “in a reasonably prompt timeframe” may lead to suspension or termination narrowly tailored to the excess.[1] Catalog proof: Excess usage must be bought after notice.
  • s.4.1 Usage-based features. If usage-based features exceed what the subscription permits, the customer may need to upgrade or buy more usage, and Notion “may disable or degrade performance of such features”.[1]

The April 2026 update summary describes the same model in plain terms. If usage approaches or exceeds what was purchased, Notion may notify the customer. If more capacity is not bought, Notion may reduce performance or suspend the affected features until the next billing period.[6]

Term, renewal and commitment

Clause Rule Catalog 
s.1.1 Subscriptions, including Add-ons, auto-renew for a period equal to the expiring term unless either party gives written notice 30 days before the end Subscriptions and Add-ons auto-renew for an equal term 
s.1.2, Definitions Add-ons are coterminous with the Service subscription Add-ons are coterminous with the Service subscription 
s.4.1 Renewal at Notion’s standard fees unless the Order Form says otherwise; Order Forms non-cancelable; fees nonrefundable Order Forms are non-cancelable and fees non-refundable 
s.4.2 No downgrade or user reduction during a term; 60 days’ written notice to reduce for the next term No downgrade or user reduction during a Subscription Term 
s.4.3 Fees due in full at purchase unless the Order Form says otherwise; 1.5% monthly interest on late amounts - 
s.10.4 On termination other than for Notion’s breach, remaining fees for the term become payable within 10 days; data available for 30 days - 

Source for all rows: the MSA.[1] The MSA FAQ says Notion will not agree to termination for convenience, because its pricing relies on fixed-term commitments.[5]

Domain management

Under s.4.5, administrators can claim workspaces that were created by, and have an administrator using, an email address the organization provisions. Claiming a workspace means the customer assumes “the obligation to pay Subscription Fees for any additional Users resulting from such claimed Workspace”.[1] The MSA preamble also warns that an organization may gain access to, or claim, a workspace created with an Organization Email.[1] Catalog proof: Claiming employee workspaces adds their Users to the bill.

Virtualization & partitioning

Not applicable to a hosted service.

Cloud / BYOL

Not applicable. Section 1.6 treats third-party integrations, templates and connectors, including those connected over the Model Context Protocol, as Non-Notion Services. They are governed by the customer’s agreement with their provider, and their failure does not entitle the customer to a refund.[1] The API is part of the Service. Using it to build functionality offered to third parties is subject to the Developer Terms (s.1.7).[1]

Programs

  • Order Form subscription (MSA). Customers and their Affiliates subscribe by executing an Order Form governed by the MSA (s.1.1). The MSA defines “Order Form” broadly, including “online sign-up or subscription pages”, so self-serve checkouts count as Order Forms.[1]
  • Notion Reseller purchases. Section 4.6, added in the April 2026 update, covers purchases through a reseller.[6][1]
  • Free trials and beta services (s.11). Free trials are for evaluation only and can be ended by Notion at any time. Beta services carry no SLA and end when a generally available version is released.[1]
  • Premium Support. An Add-on for the Subscription Term, delivered in English by assigned agents. It excludes implementation, configuration, training, migration and code development, which need a statement of work.[8] Catalog: Notion Premium Support add-on; Premium Support excludes implementation and configuration services.
  • Professional Services. These are governed by the Professional Services Addendum. Fees are generally payable before work starts and are non-cancelable. Notion keeps ownership of the Work Product and licenses it for the Subscription Term of the applicable Order Form.[9]

Service levels, warranties and liability

The Service Level Terms commit to 99.9% availability measured monthly, “excluding holidays and weekends and scheduled maintenance”. The only remedy is a 5% Subscription Fee credit for each period of 30 or more consecutive minutes of Downtime lasting longer than one hour. At most one credit accrues per day, it must be claimed in writing within 72 hours, and credits are capped at one week of fees per month.[4] Notion AI downtime caused by a third-party failure is excluded.[3] Notion’s help centre states there is no standard SLA, and that a custom SLA can be offered to teams with more than 100 members.[10] Catalog proof: Service Level Terms: 99.9% availability with capped 5% credits.

Notion warrants that the Services will “function substantially in accordance with the Documentation” (s.5.2). Notion defends and indemnifies against third-party IP infringement claims (s.8.1). Each party’s total liability is capped at the fees paid in the 12 months before the claim, excluding indemnities and the customer’s payment obligations (s.9.2).[1] The April 2026 summary describes the liability cap as “now mutual”.[6] The MSA is governed by California law, with venue in San Francisco County (s.13.6).[1]

Amendments

Section 13.12 lets Notion amend the MSA and any Supplementary Terms “from time to time”, and continued use after the effective date may be relied on as consent. Notices of term updates may be given by posting on the website or by in-product message (s.13.2).[1] The April 2026 changes illustrate the pattern: they applied immediately to new customers and from 2026-05-01 to existing ones.[6] Catalog proof: April 2026 MSA update applied to existing customers from 2026-05-01. For licence records, this means the version of the terms in force on the review date is the one to cite, not the version signed at the start of the term, unless the Order Form fixes it.

Personal Use Terms of Service

The Personal Use Terms apply to personal use only. Subscriptions renew automatically at the end of each Billing Cycle unless cancelled. Notion may change Subscription Fees with reasonable prior notice, effective at the end of the current Billing Cycle. Payment obligations are “non-cancelable, and fees paid are non-refundable and there are no credits for partially used Subscription periods”.[2] Users who join an organization’s workspace accept that the organization may access and control the content they create there.[2]

Out of scope

The Data Processing Addendum, Security Exhibit, Business Associate Agreement, Developer Terms, Marketplace terms and partner program agreements are listed on Notion’s terms index but are not summarized here.[7]

References

  1. Master Subscription AgreementNotion has updated its Master Subscription Agreement effective August 17, 2026.Effective 2026-08-17. Retrieved 2026-10-07.
  2. Personal Use Terms of ServiceEffective April 5, 2024 for new users and May 4, 2024 for existing users.Effective 2024-04-05. Retrieved 2026-10-07.
  3. Notion AI and Notion Credit Supplementary TermsLast updated July 27, 2026.Effective 2026-07-27. Retrieved 2026-10-07.
  4. Service Level TermsUndated.Retrieved 2026-10-07.
  5. MSA FAQInformational; states that it does not form part of any contract. Undated.Retrieved 2026-10-07.
  6. Master Subscription Agreement Update Summary - April 2026Effective immediately for new customers; May 1, 2026 for existing customers.Effective 2026-05-01. Retrieved 2026-10-07.
  7. Terms and PrivacyIndex of Notion's terms, Supplementary Terms and policies.Retrieved 2026-10-07.
  8. Premium Support Supplementary TermsLast-updated field blank on the page.Retrieved 2026-10-07.
  9. Professional Services AddendumIncorporated into the MSA by s.1.10. Undated.Retrieved 2026-10-07.
  10. Change your Notion planUndated help article.Retrieved 2026-10-07.

See also

Catalog Rows Cited

14Rules2Metrics2Programs1SKUs

Esc