Zoom Workplace is Zoom’s collaboration suite: Meetings, Team Chat, Phone, Mail and Calendar, Scheduler, Whiteboard, Clips, the AI Productivity Suite and related tools. It is licensed per user, in four public tiers.[1] The contractual unit behind a Workplace licence is the Host, an identified employee, contractor or agent of the customer to whom the customer assigns the right to host Meetings. Anyone else who joins is a Participant.[2] Workplace add-ons attach capacity or features to a licensed user.[3] Webinars and events are priced by attendee capacity.[8] Zoom Rooms is licensed per room.[6] For the overall model, see Zoom licensing.
Plan tiers
The pricing page shows four plan cards. Its comparison table gives each plan a License Count band: 1 for Basic, 1-99 for Pro, 1-250 for Business and more than 250 for Enterprise. The page explains that “each plan has specific limits on how many users can be assigned meeting licenses or other user accounts”.[1]
| Plan | Price (USD per user per month) | Licence band | Meetings | Notable inclusions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | Free | 1 | 40 minutes, 100 participants[1] | Meeting summaries for 3 hosted meetings per month; 20 AI queries per month; local recording[1] |
| Pro | $16.99 billed monthly; $14.16 billed annually[1] | 1-99 | 30 hours, 100 participants[1] | Unlimited meeting summaries; 10 GB cloud storage per user; Zoom Mail and Calendar[1] |
| Business | $21.99 billed monthly; $18.33 billed annually[1] | 1-250 | 30 hours, 300 participants[1] | SSO, managed domains, device management, information barriers, archival and DLP APIs[1] |
| Enterprise | Contact sales[1] | More than 250 | 30 hours; 1,000 participants on the plan card, 500+ in the comparison table[1] | Full PBX, Webinars 500, Rooms, Workspace Reservation, Visitor Management, unlimited cloud recording, VDI, customer managed key[1] |
According to the pricing page footnote, annual plans are “billed annually as a single upfront charge”. The monthly rates shown for annual plans are the annual total divided by 12, for comparison only.[1] The phone price page adds two bundles. Workplace Pro Plus ($24.00 billed monthly, $20.50 billed annually) and Workplace Business Plus ($29.00 billed monthly, $24.50 billed annually) combine the Pro or Business plan with Zoom Phone US & CA Unlimited.[11] Catalog SKUs: Zoom Workplace Pro Plus, Zoom Workplace Business Plus.
Licensed users, Basic permissions and unlicensed users
The pricing FAQ defines a licensed user as one with “either a free or paid meeting license” who can schedule meetings up to the capacity of the plan.[1] A licensed user can host an unlimited number of meetings. Where several users need to schedule separate meetings, each needs a licence.[1] The Terms prohibit sharing Host rights or login credentials with another individual without Zoom’s written pre-approval.[9] A single Host may run meetings at the same time only if the customer has bought a Concurrent Meetings package.[2] Catalog proof: Each user scheduling separate meetings needs a licence; Host may hold unlimited meetings but concurrent meetings need a package.
In a change that began rolling out on 17 June 2024, Zoom removed the choice between a “Basic” and a “Licensed” user type on paid accounts. Admins now assign purchased licences, or grant a user Zoom Meetings Basic permissions, which allow scheduling and hosting of meetings up to 40 minutes.[4] Existing Basic users were given those permissions automatically, and purchased licences were not affected.[4] A third state lets admins remove both the Workplace licence and Basic permissions. Such users cannot host or schedule meetings, but they can join meetings, use Team Chat and three editable whiteboards, and hold Zoom Phone or Zoom Contact Center licences.[4] Zoom notes that removing hosting capabilities is not available to all account types.[4] For software asset managers, the practical count is of users holding a paid Zoom Workplace licence. Users with Basic permissions, and users with no hosting privileges, consume no Workplace licence. Catalog proof: Zoom Meetings Basic permissions allow 40-minute hosting; Users without a Workplace licence or Basic permissions cannot host.
The pricing page also states that AI features “are not applicable to users with Basic permissions on paid accounts”. Included AI features therefore follow the paid licence.[1] Catalog proof: AI features exclude Basic users on paid accounts.
Assignment and true-down
Account owners and admins assign licences on the User Management page. Assignment requires available unassigned licences, and the assignment limit equals the number of purchased licences.[3] To reduce a licence count, the admin must first unassign licences from users. The reduction takes effect at the end of the current billing cycle, and access continues until the renewal date.[10] Accounts with custom pricing or a signed contract may not be able to reduce licences themselves and must contact Zoom Support.[10] Under the Terms, the Order Form minimum quantity must be kept for the whole term.[9] Catalog proof: Licence assignment capped at purchased licences; Licence reductions take effect at the end of the billing cycle; Minimum quantity maintained for the term.
Workplace add-ons
The pricing page states that “all add-ons require a paid base plan”.[1] The licence-assignment article lists Large Meeting, Zoom Webinars, Zoom Phone, Zoom Events, Zoom Sessions, Revenue Accelerator, Whiteboard Plus, Translated Captions and Visitor Management among the add-on licences.[3] Large Meeting, Webinar and Zoom Events licences require the user to hold a Zoom Workplace licence first. Removing the Workplace licence also blocks those add-ons.[3] Licences of the same type “do not compound or stack” when several are assigned to one user.[3] Catalog proof: Add-on licences require a Zoom Workplace licence; Licences of the same type do not stack.
| Add-on | Unit | Public price (USD, billed monthly) |
|---|---|---|
| Large Meeting | Per licensed user, by capacity (500, 1,000, 3,000 or 5,000)[5] | From $50 for 500 participants[1] |
| Cloud Storage | Storage blocks (30 GB smallest) | From $10 for 30 GB[1] |
| ZoomMate | Per user (see the ZoomMate article) | $20[1] |
| AI Productivity Suite | Not stated on the card | $10[1] |
| Live Translation | Not stated on the card | $5[1] |
| Conference Room Connector | Not stated on the card | $49[1] |
| Audio Conferencing | Not stated on the card | $100[1] |
| Zoom Compliance Manager powered by Theta Lake | Not stated on the card | $6[1] |
| Customer Managed Key, Zoom Node, Zoom Mesh, Premier Support | By quote | Contact sales[1] |
A Large Meeting licence raises the capacity of every meeting its user hosts, including meetings already scheduled. The assignee must be a licensed user.[5] Participants themselves need no Zoom account or licence to join.[1] Catalog proof: Large Meeting capacity applies to all meetings the user hosts; Participants do not need a licence.
Webinars and events
Zoom sells three event products. Zoom Webinars is the standard webinar platform. Zoom Webinars Plus adds the modern platform, backstage, production tools and AI content features. Zoom Events adds multi-session events, networking, lobby, expo and hybrid features.[8] At the default capacity of 500 attendees, they list at $89.00, $99.00 and $149.00 per month billed monthly.[8] Each plan card states “Zoom Workplace Pro Required”.[8] The Services Description makes Events and Webinars Plus depend on a corresponding Zoom Meeting Services subscription. When that subscription ends, access to them ends too.[2] Catalog SKUs: Zoom Webinars 500, Zoom Webinars Plus 500, Zoom Events 500.
Monthly and annual subscriptions “are priced based on attendee capacity”. Annual Webinars Plus and Events subscriptions include a Zoom Webinars licence of the same capacity.[8] Attendance is capped at the plan size, so a 500-attendee plan admits 500 attendees, although unpaid events may accept unlimited registrations.[8] Webinars Plus and Events are also sold as pay-per-attendee licences. These are a pool of attendee slots usable across all events for 12 months from purchase, with an extra charge per attendee beyond the pool. They do not include a standalone Zoom Webinars licence.[8] When one user holds both a Webinars and an Events licence, scheduled webinars take the larger of the two capacities.[3] Catalog proof: Webinar attendance capped at plan capacity; Pay-per-attendee pool lasts 12 months with overage charges; Webinars Plus and Events require a Meetings subscription.
Zoom Rooms
Zoom Rooms is a “software-based conference room system” for in-room and virtual participants.[2] It lists at $49.00 per room per month billed monthly, or $41.58 per room per month billed annually. One room supports up to three displays, ten room controllers, and up to three Companion Zoom Rooms plus one Companion Whiteboard.[6] Hardware is required and is bought separately, either do-it-yourself or as turnkey appliances.[6] The pricing FAQ distinguishes Zoom Rooms, which are IT-managed shared resources tied to a bookable calendar, from Zoom Meetings clients, which are tied to an individual user.[6]
Licence consumption depends on the room type:[7]
| Room type | Licence requirement |
|---|---|
| Zoom Rooms (for shared spaces), Kiosk, Personal Zoom Room Pro, Standalone Whiteboard | Each instance uses one licence |
| Scheduling Display Only, Digital Signage Only, Companion Zoom Rooms, Companion Whiteboard | One licence required on the account, but not consumed by these types |
| Personal Zoom Room (Zoom for Home) | No licence required |
Features such as multi-camera, smart gallery, intelligent director and BYOD mode need a licence. Standard Personal Zoom Rooms do not have them.[7] Zoom Rooms is included in the Enterprise plan.[1] Catalog proof: Zoom Rooms licence per room instance; Zoom Rooms priced per room.
Out of scope
- Education, healthcare and frontline plan pages, and the separate Zoom Sessions product.
- Enterprise quote contents and non-USD prices.
- Hardware procurement terms, which sit with the equipment manufacturers or the Hardware as a Service Program.