LICENSEWARE

ThoughtSpot editions and usage limits

This article is about the ThoughtSpot Analytics and ThoughtSpot Embedded editions and the limits ThoughtSpot publishes for each: users, rows, permission groups and Orgs, plus the administration and security features that differ by edition. Credit-based pricing and the contract are covered separately. It is not legal advice.

On This Page

ThoughtSpot editions are the named tiers of its cloud subscription, and each edition carries published ceilings on how many users, rows, permission groups and organizations (Orgs) a customer may have. The documentation defines an edition as “the ThoughtSpot license your company has purchased”.[1] The edition tables are the practical record of what a ThoughtSpot Analytics or ThoughtSpot Embedded subscription includes, and they feed the contractual wording that use is allowed within order form “limits on rows, credits, groups, integration or embedding, external use, or other limits”.[6]

The pricing page presents only part of the documented range. It shows Essentials, Pro and Enterprise for Analytics and Developer and Enterprise for Embedded, whereas the documentation also names a Team edition for Analytics, an Embedded Pro edition, and a multi-tenant variant of Pro.[4][1] The Cloud Subscription Agreement still contains a rule for Team Edition products: the term is monthly and renews monthly until cancelled.[6] A licence manager should therefore treat Team as a legacy edition that can still appear in older orders.

Editions

ThoughtSpot Analytics

Capability Team Essentials Pro (multi-tenant) Pro Enterprise 
Max number of users 5 50 1000 Unlimited Unlimited 
Max number of permission groups 1 5 25 25 Unlimited 
Max number of organizations 1 1 1 1 400 
Max data rows searchable 5 million 25 million 250 million 500 million Unlimited 

Source: the Analytics table in the usage limits documentation.[1] The documentation adds that customers expecting about 400 or more Orgs should contact ThoughtSpot support.[1] On the pricing page the same shape appears as Essentials “From 5 to 50 users” with “Up to 25M rows”, Pro with “Up to 1000 users and 250M rows”, and Enterprise with “Unlimited users and data”.[4] The pricing page figures match the multi-tenant Pro column, not the 500 million row single-tenant Pro column.

ThoughtSpot Embedded

Capability Developer Pro Enterprise 
Max number of users 10 Unlimited Unlimited 
Capacity in rows 25 million 5 billion Unlimited 
Max number of permission groups 2 500 Unlimited 
Row-level security Yes Yes Yes 
Orgs 1 1 400 

Source: the Embedded table in the usage limits documentation.[1] The pricing page lists Developer as free for one year, with up to 10 users and 25M rows, and describes Enterprise Embedded pricing as “flexible pricing models aligned with your use case & GTM requirements”.[4] Embedded is covered in ThoughtSpot Embedded licensing.

Administration and security by edition

The administration documentation gives these capabilities by edition: user management and system Liveboards in every edition; group management from Essentials; role management (RBAC), SAML authentication and style customization from Pro; and Org creation and management only in Enterprise. Developer privileges are marked as requiring a licence for ThoughtSpot Embedded or an internal analytics add-on, and for Pro they are not available in the multi-tenant editions.[2]

Application settings also vary. CSV upload, early access features, version control and data modeling are shown from Pro single-tenant upward, and the ThoughtSpot AI settings are marked as included in consumption plans per user and available as an add-on for other plans.[2]

The security documentation lists controls by edition.[3]

Control Team or Essentials (multi-tenant) Pro (multi-tenant) Pro Enterprise 
SOC Type 2 and ISO 27001, data isolation, encryption in transit and at rest, row-level security Yes Yes Yes Yes 
System reporting and monitoring; SSO via SAML, OAuth and OIDC No Yes Yes Yes 
Custom URL No No Yes Yes 
Advanced data encryption, private link to cloud data warehouses, URL whitelabeling, VPN No No No Yes 

For Embedded, the Developer multi-tenant column has the base controls only, Pro adds monitoring, SSO and a custom URL, and Enterprise adds the advanced controls.[3]

Metrics

The edition tables use four counting units.

  • Authorized User. Counted by access credential; the agreement permits employees of the customer and its Affiliates and employees of its agents, advisors and contractors.[6]
  • Row. “A single, implicitly structured data item in a table” of a supported Connections source such as Snowflake.[1]
  • Permission group. A cap on the number of groups that carry privileges and sharing.[1]
  • Org. A tenant partition of a cluster; the Orgs feature requires the Enterprise or Embedded Enterprise edition and, once enabled, cannot be disabled.[7]

Counting / floors

Rows are summed across Connections. The subscription must cover “the total number of rows across all Connections that are made available to ThoughtSpot for querying”.[1] ThoughtSpot sums unique rows per Connection, including rows made available through an Analyst Studio dataset, and counts rows from uploaded CSV files.[1] The wording counts rows “made available” for querying, not rows actually queried, so a connected table appears to count in full whatever its usage.[1] Catalog proof: Rows are summed per Connection and include Analyst Studio datasets and CSV uploads.

Users have both a floor and a ceiling on Essentials. The pricing page gives Essentials as “From 5 to 50 users”.[4] The documentation lists a maximum for each edition but does not state a minimum purchase for Pro or Enterprise; any floor there would be in the order form.

Permission groups. Groups are a licensed quantity, not just an administrative setting. A customer on Essentials is limited to 5 groups, and an Embedded Developer customer to 2.[1] When Orgs are enabled, groups are unique to an Org.[7]

Edition-limited privileges. The “Can upload user data” privilege is available only to Free Trial and Team Edition users, so it should not be expected in Essentials, Pro or Enterprise.[8]

Virtualization & partitioning

No processor, core or virtual machine rule appears in the edition documentation. The nearest partitioning concept is the Org, which splits a cluster into tenant-specific environments with their own users, groups and data; the Orgs feature is an Enterprise or Embedded Enterprise capability.[7]

Cloud / BYOL

ThoughtSpot Analytics and Embedded editions are cloud subscriptions, so bring-your-own-licence rules do not apply. The multi-tenant versions of Team, Essentials and Pro run on shared infrastructure with differences that affect planning. The documentation states that customers of a multi-tenant solution must use the default domain name provided by ThoughtSpot, that VPN and AWS PrivateLink require a single-tenant version, that multi-tenant Pro and Essentials are not supported for those options, and that customer-specific whitelisting is not supported.[2] For Pro multi-tenant customers, ThoughtSpot sets several application settings itself, for example the LLM of choice is OpenAI and CSV upload is disabled.[2]

Programs

  • Team Edition monthly subscription. A monthly term renewing monthly until the customer cancels.[6]
  • Service level and Service Level Credits. The Program Guide does not apply to Team Editions, Essentials Editions or any trial, so those editions have no contractual service level or priority response targets from it.[5]
  • ThoughtSpot Cloud support. Support for Pro, Analytics Enterprise, AgentSpot and Embedded Enterprise is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The initial response target for a P0 issue is within 12 hours for Pro and AgentSpot and within 1 hour for Analytics Enterprise and Embedded Enterprise.[5]
  • High Availability Add-On. The service level is 99.5%, or 99.9% for customers who bought this add-on.[5]

Out of scope

This article does not cover consumption credits, the contract terms, AgentSpot, or Spotter licensing, which are in the related articles. It does not state prices beyond the pricing page signals in the overview, and it does not cover software installed by the customer, whose terms are in the Application License Agreement.

References

  1. Usage limits in ThoughtSpot editionsDefinition of rows; Analytics and Embedded limit tables. Undated.Retrieved 2026-10-08.
  2. Administration in ThoughtSpot editionsAdministrator capabilities and application settings by edition, including Pro multi-tenant settings. Undated.Retrieved 2026-10-08.
  3. Security in ThoughtSpot editionsSecurity controls by Analytics and Embedded edition. Undated.Retrieved 2026-10-08.
  4. ThoughtSpot Plans and PricingEssentials, Pro and Enterprise plans; Embedded Developer and Enterprise; add-ons. Undated.Retrieved 2026-10-08.
  5. ThoughtSpot Cloud Program GuideScope of support, response targets and service level. Pages 2 to 8 footed 2026.08.03.Effective 2026-08-03. Retrieved 2026-10-08.
  6. ThoughtSpot Cloud Subscription AgreementPreamble (Team Edition term); section 3.1 access limits. Version 29 April 2026.Effective 2026-04-29. Retrieved 2026-10-08.
  7. Multi-tenancy with OrgsOrgs availability by edition. Undated.Retrieved 2026-10-08.
  8. Group privilegesCan upload user data privilege limited to Free Trial and Team Edition. Undated.Retrieved 2026-10-08.

See also

Esc