Cursor’s agent products are licensed differently from the editor seat. Cloud Agents, Automations, Bugbot and the programmatic SDK run model inference on Anysphere’s side, so they are charged by usage at model API prices rather than by a separate per-user licence. Anysphere’s pricing documents say Cloud Agents are available on all paid plans.[2] This article sets out how each product is metered and which terms apply.
Cloud Agents and Automations
Cloud Agents run in isolated cloud environments rather than on the user’s machine. Each agent runs in its own virtual machine with a full desktop environment, and can build features, fix bugs, write tests, open pull requests and attach screenshots or video to them.[2] Cloud Agents are charged at API pricing for the selected model. A larger context window can increase token usage and cost, and users are asked to set a spend limit when they first use them.[1] Agents are visible to members of the team they were started under, but opening a teammate’s agent also requires that viewer to have access to the repository; team membership alone does not grant it.[1] On Teams plans, Cloud Agents automatically try to fix failing GitHub Actions checks on the pull requests they create.[2]
Automations run Cloud Agents in the background on a schedule or in response to events from GitHub, GitLab, Slack, webhooks, Linear and other sources. The Automations page also hosts three Cursor-managed agents: Bugbot, Security Agents and PR Routing and Approval.[3] The documents retrieved do not publish a separate automation price; the Start plan excludes Automations, and Cloud Agent billing follows the existing pricing plan.[13][5]
For data protection, Cloud Agents are the only Cursor feature that requires Cursor to store code, as encrypted copies of the repositories the agents work on, and they are optional. Under US-only data residency, Cloud Agent inference, processing and storage can be kept in the US.[12]
The catalog row is Cloud Agent usage.
Bugbot
Bugbot is Cursor’s automated pull request review product. It analyses pull request diffs, leaves comments with explanations and suggested fixes, and runs on each update or on manual trigger.[5][6]
Billing. On May 11 Anysphere announced that Bugbot would move from per-seat to usage-based billing for Teams and Individual plans, stating that the average Bugbot run costs between $1.00 and $1.50 depending on pull request size and complexity. New customers were billed on usage immediately. Existing customers moved at the first renewal after June 8, 2026; for example, a customer on a monthly cycle starting May 1 moved with the cycle starting July 1, and an annual subscriber bought in May 2026 moves at the May 2027 renewal.[4] On Teams, Bugbot reviews are charged from on-demand usage. On Individual plans, Bugbot bills first from included usage and then from on-demand usage if enabled; if on-demand usage is off, Bugbot pauses until the next billing cycle.[4] Existing customers could switch early, with prorated credit for prepaid seat fees.[4]
What is counted. Bugbot runs for all contributors to enabled repositories, regardless of team membership.[5] The unit is therefore the review, not the seat or the author. Reviews can be run at Low, Default, High or Smart effort levels, available only on usage-based Bugbot plans, with higher effort costing more and taking longer.[4] Dry-run reviews triggered through the API persist findings and are billed like normal reviews, and Bugbot’s autofix feature uses Cloud Agent credits billed at plan rates.[5] The review analytics endpoint returns billed cost per review, which lets administrators reconcile invoices.[5]
Controls. Team users and admins enable Bugbot per repository and can configure allow and deny lists for reviewers; an admin API can enable repositories and control which GitHub, GitLab or Bitbucket users may use the team’s Bugbot licences.[5] Bugbot Teams includes review of all pull requests, analytics and reporting, effort level controls and advanced rules, and MCP support is available on Team and Enterprise plans only.[5][6] The documents describe a legacy seat-based Bugbot plan but do not publish its prices; the Docs say current rates are on the pricing page, which at retrieval did not state a Bugbot price.[5]
Catalog rows: Bugbot review and Bugbot.
SDK and Cloud Agents API
SDK runs follow the same pricing, request pools and Privacy Mode rules as runs from the editor and Cloud Agents, and spend appears in the team usage dashboard under an SDK tag. Service-account API keys bill to the team that owns the service account, and user API keys bill to that user’s plan.[7] Billed token usage and dollar cost can be retrieved per agent run.[7] The Cloud Agents API is in beta for all plans, with Enterprise-only features returning an error on lower plans.[8] The Start plan excludes the Cursor SDK.[13]
Self-Hosted Machines
Self-Hosted Machines moves Cloud Agent tool execution to a machine the customer manages while Cursor continues to run the agent loop, inference and planning. Workers register with the Cursor CLI over an outbound HTTPS connection, so no inbound ports or VPN tunnels are required.[9] A worker can be a personal machine (My Machines) or part of a Team Pool for shared capacity, and up to 200 workers per user and 1000 per team can be connected.[9] The Help centre lists Self-Hosted Machines, including Team Pools, among the Enterprise plan inclusions.[10] The documents do not state a separate fee; inference is still Cursor’s and is therefore billed as Cloud Agent usage. Artifacts such as screenshots and logs are uploaded to Cursor-managed storage unless the outbound route is blocked.[9]
Grok Bot supplement
Grok Bot is deemed part of the Service when a customer enables or accesses it, and the Grok Bot Terms supplement the governing agreement and any Order Form.[11] The Terms allow Grok Bot to perform autonomous actions such as accessing websites, executing code, modifying files and sending communications. The customer authorizes those actions and is solely responsible for charges, commitments and other consequences, for configuring permissions, approvals and spending limits, and for monitoring unattended activity.[11] Grok Bot may keep data, files, browser sessions, credentials, memory and routines in a persistent cloud environment shared by bots of the same user, and deleting a bot may not delete shared files or routines.[11] Customers using meeting features must obtain required consents from participants.[11]
Out of scope
This article does not state Bugbot, Automation or Cloud Agent prices beyond the cited average, because the documents retrieved give none. It does not cover the editor seat plans, the Terms of Service or Privacy Mode, which are in the related articles, or the Grok Bot or X subscription plan structure shown on the cursor.com pricing page.