Veeva sells reference data and market data under the Veeva Data Cloud name. Its portfolio page lists OpenData, Link, Compass and HCP Access as the data products, and says that the products are built on a common data architecture designed for integration with Veeva Commercial Cloud applications.[1] These are data subscriptions, not software installations, and their licence terms differ from the user-based licences of Vault applications. The public pages carry product descriptions and a few statements about the basis on which data is licensed. They carry no price list and no data-use terms. Veeva says the contractual terms are “governed solely by the written agreements under which they are provided to its customers”.[11]
Editions
OpenData
Veeva OpenData is reference data on healthcare professionals (HCPs), healthcare organizations (HCOs) and their affiliations, used in CRM, analytics and data warehouses.[2] It is sold as separate regional products, listed on the OpenData page.
| Product | Coverage stated by Veeva |
|---|---|
| OpenData US | HCP and HCO reference and compliance data for the US |
| OpenData Email US | Verified email addresses for the US |
| OpenData Europe | 52 countries across Europe, including Canada |
| OpenData Latin America | 24 countries |
| OpenData Asia Pacific | 11 countries |
| OpenData Middle East and Africa | 22 countries in the Middle East, Turkey and Africa |
| OpenData China | China, Hong Kong and Macao, with DCR services |
OpenData US is described as covering 12 million HCPs and 2 million HCOs, with 100+ attributes per record, and its data is provisioned through an integration with Vault CRM, Veeva CRM or Veeva Network, through APIs, data files or the OpenData Live web application.[3] Veeva states that “customers licensing OpenData US receive complete data access”.[3] Catalog rows: Veeva OpenData US; Veeva OpenData regional products; OpenData US licensees receive complete data access; OpenData US provisioning channels; OpenData is sold by region; OpenData Europe coverage.
For US customers who subscribe to OpenData, Controlled Dangerous Substances (CDS) licenses, meaning professional registrations of prescribers rather than software licences, are part of the data offering and are imported to CRM for relevant HCPs.[12] The word “license” in Veeva’s Network integration documentation therefore refers mostly to HCP state, DEA and CDS credentials, and an asset manager reading Veeva documents should not confuse it with a software entitlement.
OpenData Email
The OpenData Email ELA page says that a customer can “access 1.5+ million validated HCP emails”, and can “get unlimited email data use across all business units and campaigns, simplifying pricing and data management”.[4] It also says the email can be used in any platform without restrictions.[4] The page does not say how the enterprise license is priced, how long it runs or what counts as a business unit. Catalog rows: Veeva OpenData Email ELA; OpenData Email enterprise license (ELA); OpenData Email ELA offers unlimited use.
OpenData Clinical
OpenData Clinical provides data about investigators and research sites, and it automatically updates data in a customer’s Clinical Operations Vault, with data visible to eTMF, CTMS, Payments and Study Startup, and with daily updates available through a user interface or API.[5] Veeva labels it “Announced 2023” and “Early” status on the page. Whether it is licensed per Vault, per study or per site is not stated.
Link and Compass
Link Key People provides curated data about key opinion leaders, sourced from over 250,000 public sources and available across 85+ countries, which customers access through a web application, mobile app, APIs and connectors to CRM and Events Management.[8] The suite also lists Link Key Accounts, Link Medical Insights and workflows, and a separate Link Direct Data API for high-speed extraction of Link data to platforms such as Snowflake and Databricks.[8][9] Link’s privacy page states that Veeva ensures it has rights to use the data it sources and provides notices to data subjects as required by law.[14]
Compass provides US patient and prescriber data: Compass Patient is anonymous longitudinal patient data, Compass Prescriber is projected prescriptions and procedures at the HCP, HCO and ZIP level, and Compass National is projected data at the state and national level covering more than 4,000 brands.[10] The pages do not describe the licence basis for either Link or Compass.
Metrics
Veeva publishes no unit of measure for its data products in the pages used here. The licensing dimensions that appear are:
- Region. OpenData products are separate by region, and HCP Access “is licensed by region and includes national, specialty, and brick HCP level data”.[6] Catalog rows: Veeva HCP Access; HCP Access is licensed by region.
- Product. Each data product (OpenData Commercial, OpenData Clinical, Link Key People, Compass Patient and others) is named and described separately, so a customer holding several has several licences.
- Use. The only use restriction stated in these pages is for Data Cloud Basics, whose OpenData component is “intended for use in analytics only”.[7] Catalog row: OpenData in Data Cloud Basics is analytics only.
There is no published metric of HCP record counts, user counts or API calls for these products.
Counting and floors
- Prerequisite for HCP Access. HCP Access is available to Veeva’s CRM customers, licensed by region and delivered quarterly, and its metrics are created from systems data in Vault CRM and Veeva CRM.[6] A customer without a Veeva CRM relationship is therefore not the target buyer. Catalog row: HCP Access is for Veeva CRM customers.
- Data Cloud Basics. The package for emerging biotechs includes Compass (Patient, Pathway, Prescriber and National), OpenData U.S. reference data and HCP Access U.S. data, and is described as “unlimited access without multiple licenses”.[7] Whether the package ends when the customer commercialises its first product is not stated. Catalog rows: Veeva Data Cloud Basics; Data Cloud Basics package; Data Cloud Basics gives unlimited access without multiple licenses.
- Data in CRM is separate from CRM licences. Vault CRM user licences are assigned by country tier regardless of which data products the customer holds.[13] The two should be tracked as separate contracts.
Virtualization and partitioning
Data products are delivered by integration, API or file, and by web application. OpenData US data reaches a customer through Vault CRM, Veeva CRM, Veeva Network, APIs, data files or OpenData Live.[3] The delivery channel does not change the product being licensed, but the channels determine where copies of licensed data exist in the customer’s estate, which matters when a data licence limits use. Link data is replicated to customer data platforms through the Link Direct Data API.[9]
Cloud and BYOL
Veeva’s data products are delivered as services, and no bring-your-own-licence mechanism applies. The customer’s rights are those of its agreement, so any internal sharing of data with affiliates, agencies or analytics vendors should be checked against the terms, which Veeva does not publish. The OpenData Email page states that email data can be leveraged in any platform without restrictions under the ELA.[4]
Programs
- OpenData Email enterprise license. Unlimited email data use across business units and campaigns.[4]
- Data Cloud Basics. A bundled package for pre-commercial biotechs.[7]
- Third-party access (TPA) agreements with IQVIA. In August 2025 IQVIA and Veeva announced master data and software TPA agreements that allow IQVIA or Veeva data to be used with each other’s software or services in customer instances, including IQVIA data in Veeva Network, Veeva Nitro and Veeva AI.[15] Veeva’s partnership page says customers have a fast, easy process to get TPAs for projects.[16] Catalog rows: IQVIA third-party access (TPA) agreements; IQVIA and Veeva TPA agreements allow data use with each other's software; Customers get TPAs through a fast process. The background to these agreements is in IQVIA v. Veeva Systems.
- Veeva AI Partner Program and Direct Data API. Described in Veeva AI, Direct Data API and Vault limits.
Out of scope
This article does not cover Veeva Network MDM subscription terms, the content of data use restrictions in customer agreements, or the legal basis of the data sourcing. It does not cover disputes about data licences; for the court case about third-party access to licensed data, see IQVIA v. Veeva Systems.