This article covers the parts of OutSystems licensing that are not application content: the end users who use the apps, the runtimes (stages) where apps run, the default resource capacity that comes with a subscription, and the editions of OutSystems 11 (O11) and OutSystems Developer Cloud (ODC). Application size is covered separately in OutSystems Application Objects.
Editions
ODC Platform Edition
The pricing page compares three offers. Its platform subscription includes development, non-production (testing) and production runtimes; deployment on a fully managed OutSystems cloud, on-premises, private cloud or sovereign and regulated cloud; an uptime guarantee of 99.5% with an upgrade to 99.95%; professional support during business hours (8x5) with an upgrade to 24x7; ISO 27001 as the limited compliance option, with SOC2 Type II, PCI DSS and others as add-ons; and an end-user entitlement that “starts with 100 internal users” with internal and external users added as needed.[1] The fair use page calls the equivalent subscription the ODC Platform Edition and gives its default resource sizes.[3] The catalog row is ODC Platform Edition, with add-on rows for 24x7 professional support, 99.95% uptime, compliance certifications and additional non-production and production runtimes. No prices are published.
OutSystems 11 editions
O11 Standard and Enterprise 2023 editions include a development, a non-production and a production environment. Each has one Class 1 front-end; the production database (Class 2) is dedicated, while the development and non-production databases are shared between those two environments.[3] The O11 Enterprise 2022 edition, “eligible for renewals only”, includes one development environment, two non-production environments (one with a dedicated database) and two production environments with two Class 1 front-ends and a dedicated Class 2 database with High Availability.[3] Upgrades up to Class 4 databases and front-end servers are included in all O11 Cloud subscriptions on request through OutSystems Global Support. OutSystems reserves the right to downscale server components with a continued under-capacity usage, and an upgrade to Class 5 or above needs an additional ongoing subscription fee.[3] The pages do not describe how the Standard and Enterprise editions differ beyond this default configuration.
Personal Edition
The free OutSystems Personal Edition lets users try the platform and learn AI at no cost and “supports up to 100 users”; it is intended for evaluation and learning, and some enterprise features, scaling and support levels may be limited.[2] On the pricing page the Personal Edition has a development runtime only, OutSystems Cloud hosting and up to 100 internal users.[1] Its terms are in OutSystems AI agents, Mentor and trial licensing.
Metrics
End users
The second pricing driver is “the number of non-anonymous end users who use your apps”, with “Internal (employees) and external end users … counted separately”.[1] The catalog rows are Internal end user and External end user. The FAQ confirms that extra users are charged according to the plan: ODC starts with 100 internal users and add-ons allow customers to add internal and external users as needed.[2] The Master Subscription Agreement grants a licence for building applications for the customer’s own business processes, “including access by internal users and external users”, and says “Users”, as used in an Order, has the meaning set on an OutSystems 11 documentation page about End User management.[4] That page was not retrievable for this article, so the identification of an internal versus an external user, and the size of user packs, are not stated here. The Application Objects page notes that the Users table, where end user information is stored, does not count as AOs, so end users and AOs are separate meters.[5]
For OutSystems 11 the FAQ says user licensing is managed through the OutSystems licensing dashboard, where licences are assigned based on the number of users, environments and application components.[2]
Runtimes
A runtime is “the location where your apps run and where their data are hosted”. OutSystems lets customers operate separate, isolated runtime stages, typically one where developers run and debug apps, a non-production runtime for testing, and a production runtime for end users, and each can hold a different version of an app and different data.[1] The row is Runtime (stage). AO capacity is licensed for production runtimes, and the AO usage of several production runtimes is summed.[5]
ODC default resource capacity
The fair use page states the default resource sizes included with a valid ODC subscription. They “apply to each stage individually per portfolio (Development, Non-Production, and Production)”, so the organization has the same capacity at every stage by default.[3]
| Resource | Default per stage |
|---|---|
| Compute instances | 15 without High Availability; 30 with High Availability (HA applies to the Production stage only) |
| Database compute | 16 GB, shared across all apps in the stage |
| Database storage | 500 GB, shared across all apps in the stage |
| Custom code execution | 30,000 seconds per day |
| Agent Executions | 10,000 per month |
Each additional 150 AO pack adds 5 compute instances per stage without High Availability or 10 with it.[3] Customers can monitor entitlements and usage in the Subscription Console of the ODC Portal. OutSystems also offers ODC Compute Add-Ons, which raise the capacity for each resource; options and pricing come from the account team.[3]
Counting and floors
The counting rules for end users and runtimes can be summarised from the documents as follows.
- Anonymous use is outside the end-user count; non-anonymous use is inside it, and employees and non-employees are separate pools.[1]
- The first 100 internal users come with an ODC subscription, as do the default resources in the table above.[1][3]
- Development and non-production runtimes cannot be used to run production apps. The Master Subscription Agreement lists deploying or operating applications in production using a non-production environment among the restrictions of use.[4]
- Developers are not a separate licence metric in the public documents: the integrated development environment and CI/CD tools are “included with any subscription at no extra cost”.[1] Consultants and implementation partners may use the Software to help develop the customer’s applications, and their use is deemed use by the customer.[4]
Questions for the Order, framed as commentary: how an external user is identified, whether a single person who is both an employee and a customer is counted once, whether a user in an O11 environment and in an ODC environment counts twice, and what the default capacity becomes when the customer renews at a smaller size.
Virtualization and partitioning
The public documents define environments as stages and, for O11, as server classes. They say nothing about virtualization of the customer’s own infrastructure. For self-managed customers the verification mechanism is the quarterly remote usage verification described in OutSystems subscription compliance and contract terms.
Cloud and self-managed deployment
The pricing page lists self-hosting as available in certain plans and the deployment options as fully managed OutSystems cloud, on-premises, private cloud, and sovereign and regulated cloud.[1] The FAQ adds that OutSystems can be deployed in a public cloud, a sovereign local cloud or on-premises.[2] Customers that buy through a reseller are bound by the End-User License Agreement, which makes their rights subject to the usage limits defined in the Order.[6]
Programs
The default capacity is described under the programme ODC default resource capacity. The trial, Personal Edition and demonstration licences are the programme Trial, Personal Edition and demonstration licences. See the overview in OutSystems licensing.
Out of scope
This article does not cover AOs, contract and compliance terms, AI agent executions beyond the default figure, or prices. It does not state how a user is classified as internal or external, because the page that the Master Subscription Agreement uses for the definition of Users was not available.