LICENSEWARE

Appian Platform tiers and user licensing

This article is about the Standard, Advanced and Premium tiers of the Appian Platform and the way user licences, user types and roles relate to them. It does not cover AI Actions, Appian Cloud options or the free editions, which have their own articles.

On This Page

The Appian Platform tiers are the three commercial levels that Appian shows on its pricing page: Standard, Advanced and Premium. Each is priced on the same basis, which the page states as “Priced per user, per month, per app.”[1] The page lists capabilities and limits per tier but no prices, no user definition and no minimum quantity; those belong to the order form and to the customer agreement, which are not public. This article records what the public documents say about the tiers and about the user types and roles that surround them, and marks where they stop.

Editions

The three tiers share a core. Low-code process and application development, integrations, the Appian Cloud database, mobile apps and AI Copilot for Developers are ticked for all of them.[1] The tiers then separate on the following points, taken from the comparison table on the page.

Capability Standard Advanced Premium 
Data Fabric sources Single data source Multiple data sources Multiple data sources 
Rows per record type 4M 20M No row limit 
Document record types Not listed Included Included 
Dynamic scaling for queries Not listed Included Included 
Transparent data encryption for synced record types Not listed Not listed Included 
RPA bots 5 25 Unlimited 
Portals One portal per app Unlimited portals Unlimited portals 
Offline experiences and CSS profiles Not listed Included Included 
Process HQ and Case Management Studio Not listed Included Included 
Autoscale (for Process) Not listed Included, requires additional licensing Included, requires additional licensing 
Advanced plug-ins Not listed Included Included 

All values are from the pricing page.[1] The page has no date, so the rows in the catalog for Standard, Advanced and Premium carry no effective date and are dated by their retrieval, 2026-10-07. A contract signed earlier may be tied to the tier descriptions that applied at signature, so the order form should be read alongside the current page.

Five footnotes on the page change what a ticked box means:

  1. For cloud customers the single data source at Standard is the Appian Cloud database.[1]
  2. Some features may be unavailable or have limited functionality in self-managed deployments.[1]
  3. The bot and portal figures represent the entitlement per application for user licences, and the total entitlement across all applications for platform user licences.[1]
  4. Plug-ins are not supported elements of the Appian Software or Cloud Offering.[1]
  5. The Snowflake and Apache Kafka integrations, including consuming events from an external Kafka topic, are available only at Advanced and Premium.[1]

Metrics

Two licence forms are named in footnote 3: user licences, whose capacity figures apply per application, and platform user licences, whose figures are the total across all applications.[1] The catalog records them as User (per user, per month, per app) and Platform user license. The pricing page does not say what distinguishes an application user from a platform user, what an application is for counting purposes, or how a user in several applications is counted.

The documents give the following limits and units on top of the user: Rows per record type, Portal and Bot (RPA). Their tier values are in the table above. AI features use a separate unit, the AI Action, covered in Appian AI Actions and AI licensing.

Counting and floors

What the documentation defines

Appian’s documentation defines two user types. System Administrator accounts have administrative rights, “the highest level of rights”, and Basic User accounts require additional roles; a Basic User must be given the designer role to access Appian Designer.[3] Roles map to system groups, and the user role overrides the user type.[2]

The documented roles are:

  • Application User, which gives access to Tempo, sites and embedded interfaces, with no access to Appian Designer or the Admin Console.[2]
  • Designer, which allows work in Appian Designer and in applications exposed through an end user environment, without Admin Console access.[2]
  • Tempo User, Process HQ User, Data Governor and the Appian Cloud database roles (Database Administrator, Editor and Viewer).[2]
  • Service Account, for accounts that call web APIs with API keys or OAuth 2.0 client credentials. Service accounts cannot log in to Appian and cannot be automatically deactivated due to inactivity.[2]

These are access controls. Nothing in the pages reviewed says that a given role or user type corresponds to a billed user, an application user or a platform user. The rows System Administrator and Basic User are the two user types and The Application User role limits access to Tempo, sites and embedded interfaces record the documentation text and state this limit.

Deactivation and inactivity

The Admin Console can deactivate users who have not signed in within a configured number of days. The Idle User Deactivation Duration setting is described as the number of days after a user’s last successful sign-in before the user account is deactivated, and the same interval must elapse after the policy is switched on before accounts begin to be deactivated.[4] A deactivated account stays in the system but cannot sign in, and its default and runtime object permissions are revoked.[3] The Administrator system account cannot be deactivated.[3]

None of the pages connects deactivation to the number of licences consumed. For a licence manager the practical effect is that account status in the Admin Console is a technical fact, while the question of which accounts are billable remains one for the contract.

Portals and public access

Portals are public web apps that do not require users to sign in to Appian. The documentation describes them as a way to share specific interfaces or forms publicly without requiring an Appian licence for every user.[5] That statement concerns visitors. The staff who design, publish and administer a portal still use Appian under their own licences, and the Standard tier limits the number of portals to one per app.[1]

Worked checks (commentary)

The following questions are interpretation, not Appian statements, and each points back to the document that would answer it:

  • Does the order form license users per application, or on the platform as a whole? Footnote 3 shows that the answer changes the entitlement for bots and portals.[1]
  • Are service accounts, designers and administrators counted as users? The roles page describes them as access roles without a billing consequence.[2]
  • Does the agreement say when an inactive or deactivated account stops counting? The authentication page describes only the technical setting.[4]

Virtualization and partitioning

The pricing documents do not describe virtualization or partitioning rules for the Appian Platform. For self-managed installations of releases up to 25.3, the licence file records the system configuration, including the operating system, the CPU count and the FQDN, as described in Appian Cloud, Success Plans and self-managed licensing.

Cloud and self-managed

The tier comparison applies to both Appian Cloud and self-managed deployments, subject to footnote 2, which warns that some features may be missing or limited in self-managed deployments.[1] The pricing page also lists the deployment choices as self-managed, hybrid clouds (AWS, Azure, Google) or on-premises.[1]

Out of scope

This article does not cover AI Actions or the AI features that the tiers include, which are in Appian AI Actions and AI licensing. It does not cover the Community Edition and Cloud Trial, support plans, partner terms or prices. The meaning of “app” for counting purposes, the definition of a billable user and minimum quantities are not stated in the public documents and are therefore not stated here.

References

  1. Appian PricingTier comparison and footnotes; undated. Catalog: Appian PricingRetrieved 2026-10-07.
  2. User RolesDocumentation; undated. Catalog: User RolesRetrieved 2026-10-07.
  3. Manage UsersUser types and deactivation. Catalog: Manage UsersRetrieved 2026-10-07.
  4. Appian AuthenticationAdmin Console settings including idle-user deactivation. Catalog: Appian AuthenticationRetrieved 2026-10-07.
  5. Portal ObjectPublic portals. Catalog: Portal ObjectRetrieved 2026-10-07.

See also

Catalog Rows Cited

3SKUs5Metrics2Rules

Esc